3D Environmental Artist and Prop Designer

edited in Portfolios
Hey Everyone

My name is Shane, I graduated college at the end of 2015 with a background in 3D Animation and Visual Effects.
I have specialized my work around 3D environments which includes texturing, mapping, modelling, set design and basic lighting. Doing all this has led to me naturally creating assets for said levels.

I am looking for an internship or full time junior position.

If you have any questions please email me at: hazeofblue@gmail.com
My showreel as well as portfolio is available on the following sites.

crybone.artstation.com

I look forward to hearing from you.

Comments

• Disclaimer: I am not a 3D artist. I model/animate when I absolutely have to. I do hire artists though, so in a way you're aiming this portfolio at people like me. So, take this feedback from that angle and hopefully it won't feel to jarring :)

The music track felt like it had something wrong going on - what was with the crunching? Leaves? Someone walking?

The spinning bust carried on for quite a bit too long, long enough for me to start noticing things like you were never intending to animate this (the character can't look up without impaling their own back) or how the broken horn is all smooth instead of being old trauma.

I wasn't sure what I should be paying attention to in the robot and spring scenes. Perhaps some better lighting to make something stand out that you want to show off would help? The spring scene in particular confused me, usually I see water in motion in these sorts of reels so I wasn't sure why yours was a freeze-frame. Did you model the water by hand? If so, I'd have expected more attention to the texturing and how the water would have been folding/breaking up into smaller particles. The bucket was also a bit confusing, is it hovering or is it in the water? If it's in the water, why isn't it distorted?