Cape Town Community Evening - Game Industry Education Discussion

edited in Events
Hi everyone,
This coming Wednesday (24th June) I'd like to start a discussion around education and the games industry.
A little background may be helpful to understand what prompted this.

I've been in contact with an organization which aims to teach high school girls from less privileged backgrounds to code. The girls enter the program through a week long boot camp, which in my opinion perhaps a little unfortunately, focuses largely on HTML and a little JavaScript. I'm hoping to put together a similar boot camp at the end of the year or early next year which follows on from the original camp and focuses on interactive media/game design. A week is not a very long time, so I would like to put together a program which is engaging whilst equipping them to learn more about the topic.

More generally, being a student, I'm also interested in what the local industry has to say about game design/development education.

I have invited A/ Prof. James Gain, as a lecturer in the games course at UCT, I feel that he will help to provide another perspective on the matter. Hopefully he is able to make it.

Anyway, I'm posting a series of questions here prior to the discussion in the hope that it will encourage more thoughtful commentary on the matter. If anyone would like to prepare something, please let me know, then we could make it more like a panel discussion. As I don't want to monopolize the evening, I think we'll have to time-box the discussion a little.

So here goes:

1. What are the first things an aspiring game developer/designer should learn?
2. What are the most important skills a student needs to learn in order to be an effective designer/developer?