[Project Dump] Liquid Skies

edited in Projects
Hey Guys

I've started playing around with ideas for a project that I wanted to get started on for quite a long time. I decided to work on very small parts of the game as I learn how to make them and post the interesting bits here. So this is probably going to end up being a very slow development blog.

The Game:
So far the game idea is a very simple one: I want to make a game based off Sub-Culture and Freelancer. I really enjoyed both of them and would like to take ideas from both of them and bring them together in a single game.

My First Share:
The one thing that was really fun about Sub-Culture was how the submarine handles underwater, so I'm going to try and make that first. To do that I'll need a model of a submarine. I decided to make it myself, as I have a little bit of experience with Blender. I'm still no artist though.

Here is a composite image of the sub that I made. Note: I got the background image from here

Mining Sub Movement:
After wrestling with the Unity unity physics engine I finally have my first submarine controller system. (See the test movement file) I've only included yaw and pitch controls to make the sub controllable via keyboard. You can also thrust vertically on the global y axis and thrust forward/backward in the direction you're facing.

I still need to do a few things:
* Design a proper control system for limiting the pitch so that it doesn't oscillate at the limit
* Ensure that the net thrust (Vertical + Horizontal) doesn't exceed the capability of the engines
* Make the ship's pitch and yaw controllable by mouse (Perhaps a system like in Freelancer). This is just to see how the mouse controls handle compared to the keyboard controls. Then I can decide on the best control method for the game.

I'll try and post something every now and then. I'll probably also use this for all my stupid questions.

Feel free to let me know what you guys think...

Project Log: