When to get Unity Pro?

When is it worthwhile to upgrade to Unity Pro? I've been using the free version of Unity for 3 years now.
Having written most of my own small features that Pro comes with; it would be nice to have those built into Unity instead. But I'm not sure if that is enough reason? I know I'll definitely be using Unity for my future projects. So there is no doubt it is then engine for me.

So those of you who did purchase the Pro, when did you decide it was necessary?

Comments

• We bought Pro when we knew we were going to sell something made in it and needed the loading screen to go away.
    Thanked by 1Gnoblar_agency
  • edited
    I'd say if you're going to release a commercial product in Unity then it might be worth it. Especially if the price of Unity is small compared to the cost of developing the game.

There's a couple features that are important to us in Unity Pro, like the Profiler. Making a game run smoothly on lower end machines is important when you're charging money. (I don't know if there is a free version of the Profiler)

But staying free right up until the point where you're committing to that commercial release is probably fine. It's not like you'll be at any disadvantage having used the free version for so long.

I have heard of very successful commercial games which have had the Unity splash screen at the start, though as a point of pride I wouldn't want that on a commercial game I released.
  • Thanks!

The Unity loading screen really is a pain on my pride.

I'll keep this all in mind before I commit to buying the full version.
  • edited
    The way I see it, from a technical perspective there are three reasons to have Pro:
    • Render to texture, which you'll want to make your game look prettier,
    • The profiler, which you'll want to make your game run prettier,
    • and asynchronous loading methods, which you'll want to make your loading prettier.