The SCND Genesis: Legacy

edited in Projects
Hi guys.

Let me start by saying I've been looking for a place like this for a while. A place where African game developers can collaborate and share ideas. You seem to have a great community and I hope you push makegamesSA further.

Ive been drawing comics for several years and created a series I called The SCND Genesis, originally known as AK (Action Kid). Around 2012 I turned one of my arcs into a simple 2D game called SG Legends. It started out as an experiment but ended up gathering over 10,000 downloads in over 120 countries. Inspired by this I began working on a sequel, Legacy.

Its written in Java 8 and uses OpenGL 3.3 and OpenAL for graphics and Audio respectively.

The game is currently in a playable state and will be ready to download as an alpha soon. That said I feel its release is far off (Q4 2014) and Id like to use this time to incorporate player feedback into my current game play mechanics. I hope I can do that here with you guys. Ill be updating this thread with links to downloads and information on changes made to the engine.

You can download my first game from the official site here.
http://www.scndgen.com

Thanks
Thanked by 1Bensonance

Comments

• @SubiyaCryolite This looks interesting. At first glance it looks like a Mortal Kombat style game? Let us know when the demo is available. The art looks great, but it would be cool to be able to see it all in motion... ;)
  • Art is pretty cray cray. Keen to play the game.
  • edited
    Its finally ready, playable alpha available here, http://www.scndgen.com/downloads/ScndGenLegacyAlpha.zip. Please give me feedback :)

• If the link is giving problems just right click and save as.
  • Is there a particular reason you used Java 8? I see the runtime is not available from java.com and still in CTP

• I must admit I had no idea what I was doing, I was just clicking the buttons
    Thanked by 1SubiyaCryolite
  • edited
    Fengol said: