Entelect Challenge

Entelect has released their new yearly challenge here

It has a new format compared to previous years for beginners and advanced programmers, as well as a GUI challenge for designers. What doy uthink of the this new pool structure? The theme is also quite nicely game orientated, and could be an interesting experiment/learning opportunity.

Just wanted to get some feedback and ideas from MGSA :) I am going to enter the beginner, as even though I am a programmer, I am a beginner in most repsects of the field and particularly in AI. I think I am mainly in it for the learning opportunity. Anyone going to enter? Anyone entered before?

Comments

• I'm always a little leery of these things when Entellect puts them out. The games never strike me as overly fair and I'm not really sure how you're supposed to really offer critique because they always seem to go "Oh well, it's not supposed to be super serious" when real problems are raised. Yes, sometimes they change rules, so the hope is that it'll always get better next year ;)

Only had a quick look at the rules at the moment and I'm not convinced this isn't a solved space - especially if the board doesn't change at all between runs... Maybe the pills are randomly positioned, but they haven't said anything about that and that's a big thing that needs to be stated up front. There are also no rules about the poison pills that I could find, so who know how those are created.

Feels like the first player to move gets a huge advantage, seeing as they can control corner space further from their spawning point, meaning that the player that moves second has less potential territory that could be covered... I'm expecting bots to appear that start using dying strategically as a repositioning device. But yeah, seems like an okay algorithm could pretty easily solve this space entirely.
  • edited
    BTW: