Primer : Shaders

edited in Tutorials
http://notes.underscorediscovery.com/shaders-a-primer/

Created by Sven Bergström who used to work at Luma Arcade and is now living in Canada

Comments

• Thanks for this! (what happened to the shaders workshop, did I miss it?)

I have just ONE QUESTION about Shaders right now.

What language does one write shaders in, and where can I find help/reference/manual/something that I can learn it from? Is it different per platform? Or is it some kind of megalomaniac unified shader language?
  • Nope, you haven't missed it. Our lecturer got incredibly busy and couldn't run the workshop. It's still in the works
  • What language does one write shaders in, and where can I find help/reference/manual/something that I can learn it from? Is it different per platform? Or is it some kind of megalomaniac unified shader language?
    I'm no expert on this, but to my understanding, much like programming can be done in C++, shaders can be written in (or for?) DirectX or OpenGL, or whatever the language is that they use. Then, much like C# is an "easier" (but still really powerful), higher level sibling to C++, you get Cg and HLSL that are the higher level languages that get compiled into one of the others behind the scenes.

I'd work with Cg or HLSL, as you can (with a bit of digging in Unity's documentation) get them working right in Unity. There's a pretty good reference on the NVidia website, with a decent tutorial too, and I believe there's someone on the Unify wiki who's done all of their tutorial examples in Unity so that you can see how it works. http://http.developer.nvidia.com/CgTutorial/cg_tutorial_chapter01.html