[SEMI-SANE] Concept and Introduction

Hi all, for those who didn't meet me in person here is a brief rundown of myself:

My name is Daniel Esterhuizen

I've been playing around with making games since about 2007. I'm currently studying at the University of Pretoria and hope to become an active member of Make Games!
A short rundown of my skills: Adobe Flash, After Effects, Photoshop as well as programming in C++, Javascript, Java, Actionscript and GML.

My idea for the challenge is less of a game right now and more of a concept. It's also opportunity for me to learn how to use Unity.

I'd like to make a simple 1st person horror experience similar to that of "Slender"

The player wonders through an environment (a suitably scary environment) and at semi random timed intervals the game goes to crazy as the character's sanity is lost.

When in the insane mode, hallucinations appear, the screen tears, controls become unresponsive etc. before finally switching back to a sane state.

So I'm hoping to use this to force me to learn how Unity works!

Any advice and criticism is welcome!

Comments

• Hi Daniel. Great to have you. Sounds like a fairly awesome concept and should be relatively simple to implement. Go for it. For horror, make sure that there is some imminent threat, so that the player does feel vulnerable. If not it will seem like random occurrences and feel awkward, humorous even. The following is a good article on horror: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/news/37075/Opinion_How_To_Make_A_Scary_Game.php?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed:+GamasutraNews+(Gamasutra+News)
  • Welcome Daniel! Sounds great. @ProjectX is a great person to speak to about horror games, they're his chosen poison I think.
  • Awesome, the article is a great help. I've always had a love for horror games, good to know I have someone like @projectX around to help me out :P Hopefully I'll be getting people scared soon.
  • One thing to remember is keeping scope in mind.