GameMaker Mac - Opinions?

I'm looking for a little advice.

I want to start developing a prototype for a new game I'm working on. I've been messing around with Unity, but its pretty complex for what I want to do. And I'm not a coder. Progress has been slow.

I somehow missed the release of Unity 4.3, which included 2d tools (its a 2d game). So I'm busy downloading that to give it a try. But I still expect it to be less straight forward than I would like.

So in the meantime I've been checking out Game Maker. Problem is, the only computer I have that runs more than an internet browser is a Mac. And the Mac version of Game Maker is pretty out of date.

Is the Mac version of Game Maker a waste of time? Should I look into dual booting my Mac so I can run the Windows only Game Maker: Studio? Should I persevere with Unity, because the 2D tools of 4.3 are totally worth it?

Comments

• Game Maker is great, it's a fantastic learning tool and accelerates the understanding of concepts and how to do things.

The only problem for me for Game Maker is production. Getting things into the web player, for example, isn't easy, especially since I'm not a coder either. And there were sometimes bugs that I just couldn't fathom, again, because I'm not a coder.

Unity is more robust, but MUCH more difficult and complex, and a lot stricter. It requires new understanding, and new syntax.

It really depends on what you're doing - I'd say start with Game Maker but give Unity a try too, and see what you're comfortable with.

Personally, I'm still learning Unity, after having started... What, 2/3 months ago, I can say the envrionment is really awesome, the level editor isn't useless, and the workflow is great. BUT. It's harder.

I don't know about the Mac version specifically so I can't really weigh in so I'll let someone else take that. I do think that the Mac version has a slower progression (update cycle) than the Windows one overall, but I'm not sure.
  • edited