[Event] Cape Town Community Night - 27th November

Comments

• Wot 'ee said. As a relative newbie I've felt more than welcomed, Jaco and I both - as people, as Screwylightbulb, as contributors. :)
  • edited
    @dislekcia I'd rather talk about encouraging new participation and maybe publicizing their work though (which I felt was the spirit of what I posted) than what "old guard" means. I'd like to talk about improving the meetups rather than defending them (if that's reasonable).
    Thanked by 1Merrik
  • @BlackShipsFilltheSky: The CT meetups have been getting solidly better. And yeah, everybody should be free to propose topics and if the forum wants to hear it, awesome. I don't see why we need to demonise anyone, old or new. I just didn't think calling people an "old guard" and implying a whole bunch of negative stuff with that was useful, especially when that's not what's actually happening in the slightest.

Like, if you tell me that we have an old guard that constantly talks, then I'm not going to feel comfortable proposing a topic or a video or whatever because I should probably shut up and not monopolise the mic. We don't want *anyone* to feel like shutting up! I'm not defending the meetups, I'm defending the people who're being told they're not enabling or encouraging others when they actually are.

We can ask for and celebrate new content without telling the people who regularly produce content that they're bad.
  • edited
    Like, if we're having the problem that people usually don't speak at the meetups and we want to unlock what they know for everyone - maybe we can do something like panel discussions where a moderator asks questions of a few people who might have a difficult time coming up with an entire talk?

I could see a panel discussion of 3 artists being really interesting, for instance.