Looking to take the first steps to my dream job

edited in Jobs
Hi I'm looking to find a way to start building my way into having a career in game design and development.

My experience is as follows:

I did a year course at CTI which I got my diploma in software development having learnt c++, c# and Java as well as web development.

Worked for 2 years as a C# developer, hired because of my skills in coding mobile devices. In my term at this company I continued to learn C and programming Linux kernel objects to handle GSM modems, also learnt php and Java android. While working I got courses to C# XNA from adcourses www.adcourses.co.za

During the course I made an arcanoid game. All screenshots attached to this post.

I then moved to another company as a php iPhone developer where I learnt objective c and did electronics for RC cars, also had the opportunity to create programs using the neurosky programmable eeg headset as a controller. Www.neurosky.com

Now I currently work as an R&D software developer focused on mobile development.

During all this I have read books on game development using Direct X and Open gl and books on artificial intelligence.

I did the 2012 Entelect AI challenge.

Attached to this post is some of my work that I still kept around.
imageimageimageimageimage
second cog side.png
960 x 540 - 76K
sowrd 2.png
960 x 540 - 114K
screenshot1.png
1040 x 768 - 228K
WP_000037.jpg
1536 x 2048 - 819K
WP_000042.jpg
2048 x 1536 - 1003K
WP_000048.jpg
2048 x 1536 - 834K

Comments

• My advice is to just keep on making stuff. Like an artist you've got to build up a portfolio of games you've worked on.