Buying Unity Toolkits to learn

edited in Questions and Answers
I want to make a 2D Infinite runner. I need to learn to use Unity and buying a complete toolkit seems like a good way to learn how everything goes together etc.

These toolkits seem pretty expensive though.

Can anyone recommend a specific kit that would suite my needs or should I figure it out from scratch?

Comments

• @RickyGC - There are so many ways to go about learning, so my advice should be seen as just 1 out of a million options, but I used a book called "Game Development with Unity by Michelle Menard". It can be ordered from any local bookstore. Got mine through exclusive (ISBN-13: 978-1-4354-5658-7). She presumes that you are a total Noob that has never used a PC. By the end of the book you would have created an entire game from start to finish. The only drawback is that all the scripting is done in JS (but really well explained). I am also busy working through the "Cooking with Unity" video tutorials which are done in C# and are real great. Unity's own tutorial projects are also highly recommended. Good luck.
  • I think there's no need to buy anything - figuring out what does what how in Unity or any other engine is a matter of doing tutorials and googling whenever you want to do something and can't. The community here also helps a ton.

If you're set on doing 2D only, try starting with Game Maker. If you're adamant that you want to use Unity only you may be approaching this the wrong way - game makers learn problem solving and logic building and game loops, not necessarily tools. I'm a Game Maker user now, but half the time I'm still googling a bunch of stuff I do all the time... And I'm almost certain that's what'll happen when I learn Unity - I'll use it with the stuff I've learnt from GMS and google technical syntax and whatever stuff.
  • edited